Moving Average Angle Indicator

PyeR2

Hi everyone. I am sharing an idea that I have in the hope that I can get one of the talented coders in this forum interested enough to create an indicator. Before you stop reading and bail to the next thread just let me say that this is not your usual newbie request. I am a profitable forex trader with 9+ experience. I believe my concept to be unique and elegant & most likely useful in the development of future EA's down the track.

I believe that it would be very useful to be able to measure the steepness or angle of a trend, however the major problem in achieving this is automatic scaling of the price scale which depends on the range of the price action on the screen and the zoom setting selected on your chart. I'm sure you've all experienced those big spike candles or broker price anomalies that totally distort the look of the chart. I do realize that it is possible to view the chart at a fixed scale however this is impractical as the scale constantly needs to be reset depending on the time-frame / pair / etc etc.

ENTER MY SOLUTION:

An indicator that calculates the specific angle of a moving average based on a time to price scale that is determined by the ATR of the pair and time-frame that you are viewing - In other words it would self adjust to whatever time-frame and pair so that it gave a meaningful angle. I also have an idea for a 'hybrid ATR' - more on that later.

http://www.mediafire.com/file/zbnznyd5kyy/MA_Angle.rar (download diagram)

I would like to point out that this is a very different concept to the MA_AngleZeroSigma indicator that has been used in many of the scalping EA's such as My_Lucky etc etc.

THE CALCULATIONS:

To calculate the angle of a moving average it is a simple trig calculation using the TAN function.

The length of the 'opposite' side is simply the difference between the MA price at the close of the current period minus the MA price at the close of the previous period.