Forex Taxes

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Forex Taxes

OK. I will start with a question, for USA region. Many Forex brokers do not send copies of trading to IRS, but Stock Brokers DO send copies. Probably because Forex is closer to gambling than is stocks, since there is no real ownership of currencies purchased. It is more of an honor system where you "hope" your Forex Broker will send you your money when you request it.

My question is: If we have 5 brokerage accounts (as an example), and lose money with 4 out of 5 brokerages, do we still need to disclose our profits from the 5th broker with IRS? (Assuming we still have a net "loss" for the year when we combine the balance sheet for all 5 brokers.)

Re: Forex Taxes

I lost $7000.00 this year, how do I go about listing it on my tax forms?

Comment

as an individual, which is the simplest way of declaring profits/loss on US tax forms? do you need to use a particular schedule?

Comment

I am a resident in USA.......
        When claiming losses, you can do so. But, what I was told by my tax preparer was nearly impossible. There is a form, which has 5 entries per form from the IRS. According to her(She worked for California State Board and other agencies, so I believe her), you need to handwrite every single trade down, time, date, entry cost in US dollars, exit time, price, and profit/loss in USD to be able to write it off as a loss. Of course, I never did this, as one year, I had thousands and thousands of trades totaling a loss that I will never admit to otherwise. This also goes if you are claiming profits, too. Pre-printed statements from your account are not acceptable. My statement from broker was some 100 pages of what, 20-50 trades a page? So every page of statement is 10 to IRS. Yeah, write those by hand, I don't think so.
        If someone is managing your money, you can't write off fees unless they are licensed by US Government, or if, somehow, your funds are held in an LLC.